We’ve been to the zoo, zoo, zoo

The big question of today is: how do I tell the lovely father of my children that I allowed his firstborn to be scratched by the European Wildcat at Opel Zoo? Oh yes, today’s BAD MOTHER award goes to…you guessed…yours truly.

Georgia and Iris before the "incident"

Apart from the “incident” we had a very lovely morning with Georgia’s friend Iris (there they are pictured above) and Iris’ delightful mother Harriet and baby Arthur. And the firstborn survived the scratch. There was barely any blood drawn!  I think the cat was getting me back for laughing out loud when I saw it. So ferociously named, it resembles in all ways your basic garden-variety tabby cat. I hereby officially apologise, o’ Felis silvestris silvestris, for any offence caused.

Besides, I think the whole “incident” was far more traumatic for the poor mother. On coming home, in order to lift my dampened spirits I made my favourite salad (yes, I know it was half-eaten by the time the photo was taken but I was very hungry):

IMG_3723

1 whole beetroot (grated)
1 whole apple (grated)
a big handful of rocket/arugula
a small handful of sunflower seeds (roasted while you do the grating)
generous splash of olive oil and a decent amount of lemon juice

Yes, who was I kidding?  I followed this with a bacon and egg muffin.  Now that hit the spot!

Bacon and egg muffin

Yum, yum, yum.  All thoughts of vengeful pussies faded from the mind…for now.

One Response to We’ve been to the zoo, zoo, zoo

  1. Fiona says:

    yeah my beetroot salad looked singularly nothing like that xxx

Leave a comment